Young and Jobless: The Reality of Youth Unemployment

Young people in Britain are facing one of the worst unemployment crisis in 20 years. Many young people who have left school or college and are wanting to find work have been met with high levels of unemployment and few jobs for the taking (Hiscott, 2016). These statistic(s) have only increased with time; with 627,000 young people aged 16-24 unemployed in December-February 2016 (Research Briefings – Youth Unemployment Statistics, 2016). “An analysis by the House of Commons library for Labour shows that young people now fare comparatively worse than at any point since 1992” (Guardian. N.p., 2015.)

Josh Brown, 21: had a comprehensive education and left higher education to pursue a trade in an apprenticeship scheme. After 2 years of employment, he was fired from his job and has been unemployed for 3 years since his redundancy in 2013.

So Josh, how did you get to be unemployed?: “I went to college for a year and then decided it wasn’t for me. I then got a job at the same company as my dad; however, due to my work requiring me to go back to college, that lacked cohesion with my work, I stopped going. This lead to my redundancy.

Where you seeking employment before you were claiming benefits? “Yes. I thought that I have just lost my job, but it won’t be too long before I get another one. After months of searching and not hearing anything back, I decided that if I were to survive, I’d have to sign on”

Do you feel like the procedures to claim jobseekers helped you find a job?: “It certainly made me more active in order to fill the quota of applications that I was meant to meet to get my benefits. But there weren’t enough jobs in the field I wanted to apply for. It left me applying for jobs that were either too far for me to get to, or in a survival job in which I couldn’t make a career or live off”

One of the leading causes for youth unemployment has been accredited to economic turmoil stagnating the economy, resulting in less jobs being created (Reasons For Youth Unemployment | Economics Help, 2016)Youth unemployment UK claim that it’s a concoction of things that inhibit youth employment. A bad economy, Lack of quality vocational pathways and no vocational training can stop even the most aspiring person getting a job. Resulting in many youths remaining on welfare.

How did being unemployed make you feel?: “It made me feel like the career ladder was this daunting prospect. You send 100s of applications and you don’t hear back from even any of them! It really gets you down and makes you feel worthless; which then exacerbates the problem, and makes you just apply for jobs to fill the jobseekers quota, rather than actively searching for jobs that I would want to make a career out of. It felt like I am never going to get a job, and never going to be able to start my life”

With recent government regulations to be introduced to “end welfare dependency” for young jobseekers ( Hancock, 2016), but no new training initiatives provided, the situation of youth unemployment is one that looks like it’s going to get worse before it gets better.

Bibliography

Hancock: Every Young Person Should Be Earning Or Learning From April 2017 – Press Releases – GOV.UK”.Gov.uk. N.p., 2015. Web. 28 Apr. 2016.

Hiscott, Graham. “Third Of Britain Still Hit By A Lack Of Jobs”.mirror. N.p., 2015. Web. 28 Apr. 2016.

Research Briefings – Youth Unemployment Statistics”.Researchbriefings.parliament.uk. N.p., 2016. Web. 27 Apr. 2016.

Reasons For Youth Unemployment | Economics Help”.Economicshelp.org. N.p., 2012. Web. 28 Apr. 2016. Rules”.Motherboard. N.p., 2015. Web. 6 May 2016.

Youth Unemployment Rate Is Worst For 20 Years, Compared With Overall Figure”. the Guardian. N.p., 2015. Web. 27 Apr. 2016.

Youth Unemployment – Youth Employment UK”.Youth Employment UK. N.p., 2016. Web. 27 Apr. 2016.

Leave a Reply

